Linked Events

  • Welcome to Wonderland: July 02, 2014

Author Topic: Welcome to Wonderland: Rethinking Landscape  (Read 662 times)

Offline Jesse

  • Administrator
  • Uber Poster
  • ******
  • Posts: 12564
  • Karma: 47
  • Networking Art!
    • View Profile
    • jessecohen.com
Welcome to Wonderland: Rethinking Landscape
« on: June 30, 2014, 04:39:08 PM »
Who: artdc Gallery 

What: Welcome to Wonderland: Rethinking Landscape
Where: 5710 Baltimore Ave., Hyattsville, MD 20781 

Web: www.artdc.com
Exhibition dates: 6/29/14 – 7/27/14 

Reception: Wednesday 7/2/14, 7-9 p.m. 

Discuss: http://artdc.org/forum/index.php?topic=16794.0
Twitter: https://twitter.com/artdc/status/483724531832745984
Facebook: 
 https://www.facebook.com/events/648029628605639/


Image by Pam Rogers ”Peak to Peak Mica”

“Welcome to Wonderland: Rethinking Landscape” is a juried exhibition, by curator Kayleigh Bryant-Greenwell, and guest juror Hilary-Morgan Watt, that explores abstract ideas about landscape and place.  The practice of depicting landscape is as old as the history of art itself.  Today’s artists working in abstraction and conceptual art continue to explore the relationship between art and landscape, vantage points, and distance, but with added complexities such as the meaning of exact GPS locale, urban design vs. natural scenery, and place within the vastness of the solar system.  The artists of “Welcome to Wonderland” explore life as much as they do landscape and abstraction in various 2D and 3D works.  The exhibition ” showcases abstraction, and abstract thought processes, in imaginary and impossible spatial relationships, nontraditional conceptual notions of home and place, and unconventional objects that tell the story of landscape and place.

Artists:
Chuck Rounds www.chuckrounds.com
David Terrar www.davidterrar.artspan.com
Denise Philipbar www.denisephilipbar.com
Elaine Cafritz www.elainecafritz.com
Frances Borchardt www.borchardtphotography.blogspot.com
Helen Louise C. Pettis
Julie Maynard  www.juliemaynard.com
Lauren Joseph www.laurenjoseph.net
Laurence Chandler www.laurencechandlerfineart.com
Pam Rogers www.pamrogersart.com
Robert Long www.robertlong.weebly.com
Shelley Marie www.shelleyleemarie.com
Tom Block www.tomblock.com
Travis Childers www.travischilders.com
Alex Keto www.alexketo.com
« Last Edit: July 03, 2014, 08:49:09 AM by Jesse »