Author Topic: acrylic + paper = cool?  (Read 741 times)

Offline mikealynch

• Patron
  • Emerging!
    • View Profile
    • http://www.mikealynch.com
acrylic + paper = cool?
« on: February 13, 2011, 10:04:22 AM »
hi all,

sorry if this is a dopey question -- im new to painting w/ acrylics (ive mostly worked w/ oils and a bit w/ inks and random other cheapo junk) so im just kind of flailing around over here.

so ive got this pile of drawings from a few years back. mostly ink/crayon/wax done on these really thin little notecard type papers. although some are on slightly more substantial cardstock. anyway, theyre just hanging out in a box in my closet and id like to incorporate them in something larger. i was thinking about maybe using some -- or pieces of some -- in a sort of messy collage-y canvas heap w/ a pile of this heavy body acrylic smeared all over the place. some acrylic that's just watered down as well as some just right out of the tube. thing is i'm not really sure how the paper will react to contact w/ the acrylic. i feel like oil mixed w/ some alkyd would totally devour the paper but acrylic seems like a more friendly beast. seems like the two might be able to cohabitate.

anyway, sorry about the babbling! long story short -- does anyone have any experience layering paper w/ acrylic on a canvas? how did it turn out? i'm a little reluctant to attack these papers w/ acrylic before i know whether they'll just get mangled and ruined. but i'm inclined to just dive right in. better to have them ruined on the canvas than buried in a box in my closet forever, eh? FUN.

later!
mike
« Last Edit: February 13, 2011, 10:06:38 AM by mikealynch »

Offline BarryS

• Patron
  • Uber Poster
    • View Profile
Re: acrylic + paper = cool?
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2011, 09:20:39 PM »