Author Topic: What’s your favorite alternative process?  (Read 2001 times)

Offline Jesse

• Administrator
  • Uber Poster
  • Networking Art!
    • View Profile
What’s your favorite alternative process?
« on: April 09, 2013, 02:14:17 PM »
What’s your favorite alternative photographic process? There are so many options. Wonderful sources of chemistry, and a ton of ideas out there.  What do you like to play with, and which sites do you find the most useful?

I’m a big fan of:

www.photoformulary.com
www.bostick-sullivan.com
www.alternativephotography.com
www.freestylephoto.biz

I started off having a lot of dark room fun doing multiple exposures directly on photographic paper.  Many negatives, one sheet of paper.  Then I graduated college, found myself packed in a studio with woodworkers. Dust was my enemy! It was everywhere screwing up my prints! Some how I got it in my brain that contact prints would work better so I stumbled through a number of techniques. Still had problems with dust, but some how it looked better on a gum print.  Using a cobbled together darkroom, with out the proper equipment, I found that cyanotype and ziatype are my favorites along with not so alternative silver based black and white paper as a contact print. 

For those not familiar with ziatype:
http://www.bostick-sullivan.com/articles/ziatype.html

Offline Perstef

• Established Poster
    • View Profile
    • perstef.com
Re: What’s your favorite alternative process?
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2013, 04:28:39 PM »
If you haven't seen this book, I'd check it out: http://www.amazon.com/Image-Transfer-Workshop-Mixed-Media-Techniques/dp/1600611605

There are a ton of digital transfer techniques, perfect for someone who doesn't have darkroom access and most of them are non-toxic and safe to do in the home. Inkjet transfers are a personal favorite as well as pronto plates (not in this book, but are a form of digital lithography).

Offline Jesse

• Administrator
  • Uber Poster
  • Networking Art!