Author Topic: Tips and Advice for Comic Anthology in Portland  (Read 1340 times)

Offline Dudley

• Mid-Career Poster
    • View Profile
Tips and Advice for Comic Anthology in Portland
« on: April 10, 2012, 09:59:46 PM »
WARNING. THIS IS A LITTLE LONG.

Dear DC Conspiracy,

My name is Alex Dudley and it has been a LONG time since I posted here. The last time I got to see you guys was during the art exhibition at the MLK Library. Since then, I graduated from SCAD, started producing web animation, and moved from DC to Spotsylvania.

I started this thread to ask you guys on your opinion and advice on a project that's starting out on the other side of the country. In Portland, Oregon, Peter Paltridge of Platypus Comics fame, has gained funding to launch his project known as "Bang! The Entertainment Paper". Bang will be a monthly mostly b/w newspaper-formatted anthology consisting of comics and short stories that will be distributed in over 1,000 locations in Portland. Bang's hook is that they'll pay creators $25 for each page submitted and that they're allowed to submit comics and stories that they've uploaded online or has been previously printed (so long as they still retain the rights to the work). Along with a chance to earn money, Portland is home to both Dark Horse and Oni Press, so they'll undoubtedly get to see the creative talent within the anthology.
At the moment Bang is looking for submissions to produce a sample issue to get advertisters invested. The anthology is set to come out this summer (at this rate I'm assuming August).

When I heard about this, I thought that this is a great way for comic artists of all kinds to earn a little bit of money off of their work. But I also was reminded about the DC Conspiracy's Magic Bullet, and how they run semi-annual, and produce free issues. MB is distriubted throughout comics shops, restaurants, bars. And Bang's planned to be distributed to comic shops, and locations "where children are present".