Author Topic: 1st open studio: Recap & Lessons learned  (Read 686 times)

Offline Roberto Gato Echanique

• Emerging!
  • Award-winning artist/designer for stage & gallery
    • View Profile
    • Bobcat Arts.com
1st open studio: Recap & Lessons learned
« on: August 19, 2013, 11:37:34 AM »
I'm still pretty new to the world of visual arts, having never gone to art school or other formal artist training - or been involved much beyond technical help for other artists setting up their work (rigging, lighting, electronics, etc.). I was told by curators and others in the industry that open studios are a thing you do to develop your art career;  invite the public in to your work space, show (maybe sell) new work, etc. With my new huge space, the Art Mines, I thought I finally had an opportunity to launch myself professionally with the first open studio.

All my best work was framed and hung on the gallery-like walls, and unframed work stacked in two user-friendly bins: large work, 18x24 and small work, anything that could fit in a crate. I tried not to put out absolutely everything so attendees wouldn't be overwhelmed (advice from the internet, and I have a LOT of art). I got wine, snacks, comfy seating and cleared space to do demonstrations if it came up. I wrote personal invites to a DC theatre critic (a cool cat and I wanted to meet in person anyway, since theater is my background), wrote to the Arts editors of the Post, Citypaper and others, wrote up event listings on local DC Arts forums - even did a Facebook invite. Then I hung out my shingle (quite literally a hand-painted ART MINES sign on plywood) and opened the doors.

In cartoons there's a convention showing awkward silence: Crickets. Not just normal silence, where nothing is happening, but the awkward silence where the nothing is what's happening. Crickets. Nobody came.