Author Topic: Works on paper / Signatures / Framing / Presentation.  (Read 3665 times)

Offline Jesse

• Administrator
  • Uber Poster
  • Networking Art!
    • View Profile
Works on paper / Signatures / Framing / Presentation.
« on: March 28, 2013, 11:39:45 AM »
What are your thoughts on works on paper?

As an artist, I feel it’s my personal responsibility to develop a clean and secure presentation of my work with in a reasonable budget.

Notice that? That’s a nice caveat there, “With in a reasonable budget.”

Number 1, most important, I feel we have to respect our art. I realize that many things I do have a life span. That is paper degrades, chemicals depending on the choice may oxidize, but you must respect your work and the people buying it. I feel there is a responsibility to present work in a professional manner.

For me this means framing in an acid free or pH neutral environment depending on the paper or chemical process. UV / Conservation glass, and a clean well cut frame that suits the work.

In the past I opted for a crisp gallery look with “photo white” mats and a black frame, but I’ve expanded. I now like to use a black mat with a black frame. I think it makes the work pop. There are still times, however where a clean white mat is just the answer needed.

As a photographer, mounting the work has been an interesting evolution. From the start I’ve always preferred to hinge my work. I want my work to stand free so that the owner can potentially do what they please with it. That said, I’ve learned, working as a framer, that there are times where cold press mounting or dry mounting is the option needed. There are some finicky papers out there that need some special attention. I think this should be the artist’s responsibility. Leaving it in the hands of the customer of the framer leaves opportunity for errors to happen.