Author Topic: A couple new things at www.davidmichaelconner.com  (Read 1693 times)

Offline davidmichaelconner

• Emerging!
    • View Profile
    • http://www.davidmichaelconner.com
A couple new things at www.davidmichaelconner.com
« on: February 21, 2005, 02:09:07 PM »
Hello,

I am a burgeoning artist living in Arlington, VA.  I would love to become involved in the DC arts community, but I don't know where to begin and--to be honest--I don't know if I am even good enough to pursue anything but creating paintings for myself as occupational therapy.  That said, I'd really love to become more "professional" at what I am doing, and I'd appreciate any feedback I can get.

My website, http://www.davidmichaelconner.com, features some of my recent paintings.

Here's a little background on me:

-I'm a writer/editor who grew up in the DC area
-I also write short fiction and I have finished my first novel, No Angel Came, which is currently being reviewed by a literary agent in New York.  I've been nervously awaiting his reply for nine weeks (!!!) now.   :???:
-When I was young (high school), I wanted to pursue visual arts as a profession, but I chickened out.  I'm kind of happy about that decision, actually, because it allowed me to culture my writing abilities, but I also lost a lot of precious experience and years of painting.
-I recently (fall 2004) picked up a paint brush for the first time in 8 years, and I remembered what I love about it, and I want to do it a lot more.  My friends, family and colleagues (in a completely unrelated field) have encouraged me to look into getting more experience and trying to show, but I'm not confident enough for that.  Yet.   :wink:

Can anyone give me honest feedback on the quality of my work, and suggest places I could go to culture my painting quality and my networking with the DC artistic community?  I'm begging for help.  Please initiate me!!

David