Author Topic: Magical and Mysterious-The work of Jessica B. Hensley  (Read 1164 times)

Offline jbhensley

• Established Poster
  • I'm a jeweler and collage artist
    • View Profile
    • Fantasma Creations
Magical and Mysterious-The work of Jessica B. Hensley
« on: September 08, 2012, 02:40:37 PM »
Hello everyone,

It's been a very long time since I've posted in the artdc forum. I've decided to start a new blog because I hadn't posted in here for such a long time.

I have great news!

One of my paintings got accepted to the Art League Gallery at the Torpedo Factory!

I'm so excited. Unfortunately, I didn't take a picture of it. I can describe it for you though.

I used guoche on Arches Black Watercolor paper. I achieved this dark moodyness through a build up of light colors underneath darker colors. The painting is called "On the Bridge of My Nose". It looks like a glasses lense is perched on my nose. I also added a collage element, it is a strand of pearls that looks like the bridge of my nose.

I think it got in because I framed it nicely and it kind of had a pun element in the title. There were a group of puny titled works on one wall. Interesting.

Also, I've got into cutting and polishing my own gems and setting them into jewelry with wire. They aren't casted pieces. I'm going to combine my painting with the jewelry setting. It's hard to explain. I'll have a picture when I finish it. It could take a couple of weeks to get it finished.

Anyway, I'm interested in seeing how everyone is doing. I do think of the artdc gallery from time to time.

Offline jbhensley

• Established Poster
    • View Profile
    • Fantasma Creations
Re: Magical and Mysterious-The work of Jessica B. Hensley
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2013, 07:03:20 PM »